April 29, 2014

Blue Dragons host Allen Co


The Jayhawk West champion Hutchinson Community College baseball team will play host to the Allen Red Devils in the opening round of the Central District (Region VI) Tournament this weekend at Hobart-Detter Field.

The best-of-3 opening-round series will begin at 1 p.m. on Saturday with Game 1. Game 2 will be played 30 minutes after the completion of Game 1. If a decisive third game is needed, that would be played at 1 p.m. on Sunday.

The Hutchinson-Allen winner will play the Seward County-Neosho County series winner in the Central District Tournament, which begins on May 9 at Lawrence-Dumont Stadium in Wichita.

The 20th-ranked Blue Dragons bring a 40-15 record into the weekend, pending a Tuesday non-conference game at Pratt. The Red Devils are 14-35. HCC defeated Allen 20-9 one week ago in Iola.

This will be the first postseason meeting between the Blue Dragons and Red Devils since 2010.

Admission for the Central District Tournament opening-round series will be $5 daily for adults. Kids eighth-grade and younger are $4 and preschool children are admitted free.

2014 Central District Tournament Opening-Round Pairings

Saturday (Games 1 and 2); Sunday (Game 3 if needed)

Cloud County (18-31) at Johnson County (42-11)

Kansas City (34-19) at Colby (28-22)

Barton (32-23) at Coffeyville (35-17)

Dodge City (31-25) at Cowley (34-15)

Independence (23-27) at Garden City (34-21)

Fort Scott (29-24 at Butler (34-21)

Seward County (29-26) at Neosho County (39-16)

Allen (14-35) at Hutchinson (40-15)


Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2007 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.